INDI of the Month: CLOUDY with a Chance

Each month, we feature a stan account as the Indi of the Month in celebration of their unique personality as a Katy Perry music enthusiast & a member of our fandom community. For suggestions on who we should feature next, message us at @ThePerryAwards.

With a thousand followers and countless number of tweets that hit great impressions within the fandom, you’d imagine that a stan like Cloudy @witmessy couldn’t get more higher in Cloud 9. But on November of last year, Katheryn did just that when all of a sudden she followed the Katycat to the surprise of a whole fandom, who comprised the 100 million followers the global pop star was able to accumulate first in the history of the Twitter platform.

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Since then, a growing interest to Cloudy has become a momentary piece of talk to Katycats, with some expressing how wonderful the fact that Katy can now see what her fans have in mind, while others speculating he is Katy Perry herself disguising as a stan.

Unfortunately, he is not. Cloudy is a fan who lives in Spain and became a Katycat when Katy is both popping & snapping the pop music scene with Teenage Dream. “I knew both IKAG and HnC and I loved them both back in 2009. But I became a fan around 2011.” As with a large number of critics and spectators of Katheryn during that time, Cloudy was almost into everything about the California Gurl, except her voice. “I saw some videos of her singing live, and honestly I’m disappointed. Then when Roar was released I watched every single game teaser, the lyric video, the music video,… I was amazed.”

Like most people, it takes time to embrace a new discovery, and Cloudy has an on-off relationship with his inner Katycat until he decided to take full grasp of the Perryligion in mid 2014, thanks to the Taylor Swift fiasco. “That last thing I needed, although I wish it never happened, the feud with Miss Swift. After August 2014, I got really defensive of her and started learning more and more about her.

It was her combo of quirkiness and cleverness…the fact that I knew and liked most of her hits. her presence and light, that finally got me here, and that Superbowl Halftime Show! I mean…”

Yes, the most watched halftime performance of all time, which celebrates its third anniversary this year, was a key ingredient in Cloudy’s conversion into a full-pledged Katycat.

So how does he describes himself as a Perry track? Cloudy’s pick – PRISM’s Ghost:

“[It is] the 9th track in Prism and you expect it to be as upbeat and as fun as the previous 8. Sonically [it is] not that dramatic and it’s even poppy at times but when you listen to the lyrics, you see there’s something deeper there…so deep Katy won’t sing it live because of the feelings it stirs. It’s also enigmatic in a way that we thought it was about Russell, but then she told someone in a M&G that the inspiration was John [Mayer]. I love the song, of course I might be biased”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“You all know me now (those who do) as witmessy, but I have had some previous usernames and accounts which are forgotten and should remain that way. My layout’s are messy, just like my username”, Cloudy reveals when asked about his stanning experience and the reason behind his name. “The inspiration is basically the mess that the Witness era was leading up to be (no offense), but I liked it because it combines “wit” which I wanna say Katy and I have a lot of and messy, which we both are”. Now, he is often seen having his unique layout motif of clouds for his profile.

“I find it strange to have Katy’s face as my icon, it’s like I’m pretending to be her and I don’t like it. So I choose to have pictures of clouds from scenes she is in. My layouts are freaking ugly but I like them regardless.”

img_4611
Katy Perry fresh from releasing her new album Witness, which some fans loved for its experimentation, but not its promotion.

Speaking of Witness, Katheryn’s fourth record that explored experimental sounds and perspectives, Cloudy appreciates her different approach to introducing her music, but pointed out a miss he felt was necessary for an era about connection. “This era is very different to previous eras. Katy’s attitude is different and she wanted it this way. The only thing I will say is that I miss some interaction with her, keeping us engaged as a fandom. She says it’s all about connection but there wasn’t much communication this era on her”, pointing out Katy’s late inactivity on the social media app which he thinks “leads [us the Katycats] to uncertainty and mistrust”.

This might widely pertain to the so-called “KKKatycat”, a jargon used to describe those who deflected in getting behind Katheryn’s back after her lack of massive commercial peak this era. “The worst part is that, if it weren’t for the hate and overall tiring comments from anonymous accounts, this wouldn’t be happening” Cloudy expressed. It has become part of stan culture to be hateful and aggressive towards any artist in the scene, whether it is for valid argumentation, sarcasm or just plain irrational hatred towards someone – artist or fellow fans – which prompt some fans to completely abandon following pop culture accounts on Twitter like Pop Crave or Shade Music Facts, one of them being Cloudy himself.

 

“I said that not only because of the replies but also the competitiveness that’s built around the things they post. Each artist and their achievements are valuable; there’s no need to compare. The comments [on pop culture accounts] are of course aren’t positive, let’s say. I think the problem comes from thinking hate and being snarky. It’s a cool and trendy way to gain followers and attention”.

As for his wish on what stans, especially Katycats should do on this situation: “There’s a million ways to praise Katy without putting her peers down and there’s a million ways to shut your mouth and take your fingers off the keyboard when your going to say something disrespectful and hurtful. Katycats and stans in general should learn to cope with jealousy or anger instead of spread it.”

Cloudy is no stranger to the idea of thinking before you click.  Having the privilege of being followed by the Katy Perry herself, Cloudy says for the most part, it demands certain changes on how one handles Stan Twitter.

It has changed a lot. I used to tweet stuff at random at any time. Now that I have 1000 [followers], one of which is the person I tweet about, I have to have some self-control. Most of  my tweets hang around as drafts for days before I send them and I can’t RT all the stuff I’d like too.

Nevertheless, he still keeps a little bit touch of himself from time to time. “If I have to tweet something shady I’ll do it, though, cause I won’t stop being myself and sharing my opinion and Katy wouldn’t want that either.”

It is important to build a healthy network of people in a system that is, by nature, vile and offensive. For Cloudy, Ana and Uri are some of the people that balances the negativity with their presence in the virtual community, especially because they remind him of his beginnings.  “There’s very interesting people [in the fandom] for sure, I don’t know how to pick a fave, but I’d like to mention @katysdonut and @UriKatyCat and many others who followed me before this happened and I’m grateful for that”.

And we are grateful for having you within the group, Cloudy.

Leave a comment